Disclaimer: COVID-19, please check with event websites for scheduling updates.
Loading Map....

2020 Dick Mayo Sprint

18/07/2020 - All Day

Castle Combe Circuit, Wiltshire


This is the second of our two annual sprints at Castle Combe Circuit. 160 cars are entered in the event from single seater racing cars to the fiercely competitive Vincenzo and Sons Bristol MX5 Challenge.

Spectating, including paddock transfer is completely free! We also have passenger rides over the lunch break so you can experience competition with our Autosolo display team.

Like the earlier sprint it is a round of the ASWMC Sprint Championship and there are classes for a wide range of cars from Production Road Cars and Kit Cars through to Radicals and Single Seat Racing cars.

Dick Mayo was an active member of the Bristol Motor Club for over 40 years, and was a fervent supporter of the club’s fundamental principle of promoting affordable motorsport.

For more than 20 years, Dick was actively involved in the Association of South West Motor Clubs, as either General Secretary or Treasurer. He also sat on the MSA’s (now Motorsport UK) Speed Events Committee, and became its Chairman. He was also elected a director of the MSA itself (now Motorsport UK). Where others in this position might have lost touch with grass roots motorsport, Dick used it to promote the interests of ordinary clubmen. He was closely involved in the return of Bristol MC to Castle Combe with a sprint in 1992, so when he died in March 2004, it seemed only fitting that what had by then become an annual event should be renamed in his honour.

The Dick Mayo Trophy that is presented for FTD at this meeting features an enamelled Alfa Romeo badge in recognition of the cars that Dick admired and drove for many years.

All our sprints require organising and marshalling, so even if you don’t compete there are outlets for a wide range of other skills and interests.

Contact: Event Secretary Ady Taylor 07957 545432.